Tuesday, November 1, 2011

U.S. Federal Innovation 29: Protecting the Oceans and Atmosphere 

Humpback Whale Breaching
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) was formed in 1970 by combining three of the nation's oldest agencies: the United States Coast and Geodetic Survey, formed in 1807; the Weather Bureau, formed in 1870; and the Bureau of Commercial Fisheries, formed in 1871.

Signed into existence by President Richard Nixon, NOAA is situated in the Department of Commerce. NOAA is a science agency with conservation management and regulatory responsibilities. NOAA's mission is threefold:

  • To understand and predict changes in climate, weather, oceans, and coasts;
  • To share that knowledge and information with others; and
  • To conserve and manage coastal and marine ecosystems and resources.
Source: NOAA.

No comments:

Post a Comment